Sikhs, the defenders of Indian Dharma

12 12 2007
Sikhs, the defenders of Indian Dharma…

The Sikh Exhibition


Throughout the ages, Sikhs have protected India from numerous onslaughts by foreign invaders – whether the Mughals or the British… This has not been recognized by society today…

FACT has in association with the SGPC Delhi commissioned the contribution of Sikhs to Indian Dharma titled Sikhs, the defenders of Indian Dharma. The exhibition would travel the time and present to the world all those facts that we have forgotten about the wonderful things the Sikhs have given to India their Motherland.

Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji:

The first Sikh Guru to be martyred by Mughal Emperor Shahjehan for not converting to Islam.

Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji

Aurangzeb wanted to implement Sharia or the Islamic religious law. He executed Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji (the 9th Sikh Guru), who refused to convert to Islam.

The Battle of Saragarhi

The Battle of Saragarhi was fought on 12th September, 1897 between 21 Sikhs of the Sikh Regiment and 14,000 Afghans. This battle is listed as one of the 8 top battles of collective bravery by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
The Sikh Regiment Formed in 1846, The Sikh Regiment is the most highly decorated regiment of the Indian Army. In the 1999 Kargil Conflict, the Sikh regiment went into action once again, this time against Pakistan. 8 Sikh took Tiger Hill, whereas 14 Sikh fought at Chorbat La.

30th May, 1606 – Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji – Jahangir

1634 – Sri Guru Har Gobind Sahib Ji – Battle of Kartarpur

9th November, 1675 – Bhai Dyala – Red Fort -Boiled

9th November, 1675 – Bhai Mati Das – Red Fort – Cut

9th November, 1675 – Bhai Sati Das – Red Fort – Burnt

11th November, 1675 – Bhai Jaita Singh -Rangretta Guru ka Beta – Head of Sri…

11th November, 1675 – Lakhi Shah Vanjara – Body of Sri…

1687 April – Battle of Bhangani – Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji

1687 – 1705 – Sahibzada Ajit Singh son of Sri…

1691-1705 – Sahibzada Jujhar Singh son of Sri… Buried alive in walls – Zorawar Singh and Fateh
Singh – sons of Sri…

1701 – Bhai Udai Singh and Bhai Bachitar Singh

1706 – Mai Bhago

1723 – 1803 – Sardar Jassa Singh Ramgarhia

1745 – Faith before family – atrocities of Mir Mannu

1761 – Sardar Jassa Singh Ahluwalia – Lahore Fort

1762 – Battles against Nadir Shah – Loot, Jewellery, confiscating Indian Women

1763 – Martyrdom at Lahore – atrocities of Mir Mannu

11th March, 1781 – Flag on Red Fort – Sardar Bhagel Singh

1791 – 1831 – Ssrdar Hari Singh Nalwa – got Kashmir and Kabul

1818 – Victory of Multan Fort from Mughals

13th January, 1849 – War at Chillianwala

17th January, 1872 – 66 Sikhs blown up by British

24th May, 1896 – 16th Nov., 1915 – Sardar Kartar Singh Sarabha

26th Dec., 1899 – 31st July, 1940 – Sardar Udham Singh killed the brain behind Jallianwalan Bagh Massacre, Gen. Dyer

27th Sep., 1907 – 23rd Mar., 1931 – Amar Shaheed Sardar Bhagat Singh

November 1921 – Non-violent protest against British confiscating keys of Sri Harmandir
Sahib Ji

30th October, 1922 – Sri Pratap Singh and Sri Karam Singh trampled by Train – Guru ka

21st Feb., 1924 – Bibi Balbir Kaur

1965 – Sikh Regiment got Raja Hills from

1971 – War against Pakistan Misc. without Dates
1. Baba Deep Singh
2. Bhai Kanhiya – Sewa Panth – Water and First
Aid to War-victims
3. Maharaja Ranjit Singh
4. Nihang Festival
5. Jathedar Lachhman Singh and Daleep Singh,
Nankana Sahib (Pakistan)
6. Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji warning Babar
7. Bhai Bidhi Chand – Jump on Horse
8. “Nishchay kar apni jeet karo.”
9. Banda Bahadur + 100 Sikhs martyred
10. Sardarni Sada Kaur – Victory over Shahi
Fort of Lahore
11. Ahmad Shah Abdali – Hindu Women
12. Tees Hazari
13. Mahant
14. Elder son Sikh
15. Conversion and Drugs
16. Battle of Kargil